About IAC Vein Center Accreditation

The Intersocietal Accreditation Commission (IAC) accredits vein centers that perform evaluation and management of superficial venous disorders. IAC accreditation is a means by which facilities can evaluate and demonstrate the level of patient care they provide. IAC Vein Center accreditation is granted for a three-year period from the original date of decision. 

Facilities with the capability to provide at least two of the four following procedures are eligible to apply:

  • Saphenous Vein Ablation (may include surgical, endovenous thermal, endovenous non-thermal and/or ultrasound-guided chemical ablation)
  • Ambulatory Phlebectomy / Powered Phlebectomy
  • Sclerotherapy
  • Non-Operative Management of Chronic Venous Insufficiency with Ulceration (wound care including: debridement/bandaging and compression therapy)

Accreditation Process

Designed to serve facilities as an educational tool, IAC Vein Center accreditation is made up of two crucial steps.

  • Review of the Standards: First, facilities conduct a self-evaluation by reviewing the IAC StandardsStandards are the minimum requirements to which an accredited facility is held accountable. Download the Standards»
  • Completion of the Online Application: Second, facilities utilize IAC Online Accreditation to complete and submit their application. Completion of the application requires detailed information on all aspects of facility operation as well as the submission of actual case studies for review. Read more about case studies»

Accreditation Fee

The accreditation fee ($6,000 per three-year cycle) is due at the time of online application submission. View complete IAC fee structure»

Application Review

The application review process generally takes approximately 8 to 10 weeks to complete, at which time the decision is provided to the facility. Read more»

Accreditation Decisions

After the review process has been completed, the facility will be notified of the accreditation decision via a notification letter that may be downloaded from the Online Accreditation portal. IAC accreditation is granted for a three-year period from the original date of decision. Read more»