IAC MRI - Newsroom

IAC Releases Updates to Standards & Guidelines for MRI Accreditation - New Standards Effective November 15, 2020

MAY 15, 2020 | As an accreditation organization, IAC MRI is committed to maintaining a program that balances the changing needs of both the MRI community and the general public by influencing the quality of patient care provided. The IAC Standards and Guidelines for MRI Accreditation are the most important component of that commitment. Composed by physicians, physicists and technologist from the IAC sponsoring organizations, the Standards are reviewed periodically by the Board of Directors and revised as needed.

As a component of the accreditation process, the IAC MRI Board of Directors preliminarily approved the proposed Standards which were recently posted to the IAC website for a 60-day public comment period.

View or Download the Standards»

Key Revisions to the Standards

Key modifications or additions are shown in the current Standards in highlighting and include:

  • Technical Director Required Training and Experience (Applicable Standard
  • Technical Staff Required Training and Experience (Applicable Standards,,
  • Medical Physicist (Applicable Standard 1.6A)
  • Examination Interpretation and Reports (Applicable Standards,
  • Patient and Facility Safety (Applicable Standards 4.1.2A, 4.1.3A, 4.1.4A, 4.1.5A)
  • Patient or Other Customer Complaints (Applicable Standard 5.2A)
  • Indications (Applicable Standard 2.2.2B)
  • Techniques (Applicable Standards,

Standards that are highlighted are content changes that were made as part of the May 15, 2020 revision. These Standards become effective November 15, 2020. Facilities applying for accreditation after November 15, 2020 must comply with these new highlighted Standards.

News Archive (Articles Prior to 2018)

2017 (click on the article name to view PDF)

2016 (click on the article name to view PDF)

2015 (click on the article name to view PDF)

2014 (click on the article name to view PDF)

2013 (click on the article name to view PDF)

2012 (click on the article name to view PDF)

2011 (click on the article name to view PDF)

2010 (click on the article name to view PDF)